Food for soul

Akela hoon main, is duniya me, koi saathi hai to mera saaya, akela hoon main

Mohammad Rafi is singing in the radio. I hum along and do my work.

I am a radio fan. I have grown up listening to Vividh Bharthi and I prefer radio to TV when it comes to songs. Now I have shifted my loyalties to the internet radio, particularly Gaana.com. My phone is my radio these days and I listen to all music. Both new and old hindi songs play.

But I have observed one thing. I can remember the lyrics of old number along with the interlude music but for the life of me, I cant remember the lyrics of new songs. I start to hum a few words and then I am lost!

On the other hand, my daughters can sing the new and old songs with aplomb! Looks like I am getting old and you know what they say about teaching old dog new tricks!!

One thing I have to say and I am sure even the new gen agrees with me. The latest songs that are the rage at the moment have a very short popularity life. They are forgotten so fast that people don’t remember them at all. Whenever the all popular game ‘Anthakshari’ is played, everyone, old and young, sing the all time classics of Rafi, Kishore, Mukesh, Lata, Asha and Manna Dey.

The old songs stay in our minds because they feed our soul. The music, voice, lyrics are so true and soothing that they sink into our very being. They touch our inner most feelings and reflect our thoughts. There are happy songs, sad songs, philosophic songs, dance songs, love songs, a song for every occasion.

The new songs are more oriented towards a few catchy tunes. The lyrics and music are very superficial and never really make a connect to our heart. Yes they are fun to listen to sometimes. But along comes a new one and this one is forgotten forever. Neither the singer nor the composer is retained in our minds. Most of these songs are either dance numbers or romantic numbers. These have no distinct character of their own. They seem to be a repetition of something you already heard somewhere.

I am not saying the new ones are all bad. I am only talking about the retention factor. If you notice, the new song that stays with you for a long time is the one with meaningful lyrics.

I am sure the old songs will remain in our hearts for many more years. The new ones that will stand the test of time will be ones that have good, soothing music and lyrics to match them.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Shashi says:

    Yes, the soul is missing in today’s songs.

    Like

  2. Vani says:

    Very true!! Agree 100%. Songs these days not only lack soul… most of them lack basic lyric sense also!!

    Like

  3. Sadhuvi says:

    I too feel the same..Meaningful lyrics are important for a song…

    Like

  4. Manju says:

    Old is REALLY gold.I don’t get bored listening to the same old song( of my times) but new ones,once or max. twice is enough.
    But A R Rehman’s music is an exception!
    BTW,I like this song,Akela hoon main… V much,Meena

    Like

Leave a Reply

