My dream destination

I have a long bucket list of places that I want to visit! A lot of them are pilgrimage towns with famous temples. All the places that I want to visit are in India. These places include Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, Yamunotri, Ajanta and Ellora caves, Bhadrachalam, Srisailam, Dwarka, Mount Abu, Guruvayoor, Haridwar, Varanasi, Prayag, Somnath. I can remember only these at this point.

The list is very long, right? 🙂

My husband thinks so too!! 😉 He says that I keep adding to the list every time we talk about it. Ha ha.

Apart from these religious places, I have a wish to visit picturesque and/or historic places places like Valley of flowers, Kovalam,  Chittorgarh, Mumbai…… The list just goes on and on.

I do hope one day I will be able to visit at least a few of these places in my lifetime. Taking time out for travel is the one thing that is not possible in my life at this point. I do envy all the travel bloggers who get to go to awesome places and write about them too.

Among all these places that I have to visit, there is one city that I really really really want to visit. That place is Gangtok, the capital of Sikkim. Nestled in the eastern Himalayas, I feel that it is indeed paradise. Sikkim is surrounded by China, Bhutan and Nepal on three sides. Gangtok is the centre of Tibetan Buddhist culture and has many monasteries. Even in the peak Indian summer the average maximum temperature here reaches 21 deg C.

I first heard about Gangtok when I was 12 or 13 years old from a TV show that used to come in Doordarshan called Paach Namaskar. In this weekly program, any 5 cities of India would be showcased. I was captivated by the beauty of Gangtok and I still remain captivated. The mountains, the scenery, the simplicity of its people, the flowers are all imprinted in my mind since then.

I hope that one day I will be fortunate enough to go there. Till then, I have to be content with the photos.

 

 

Today’s post is in honour of the National Tourism Day (today!)

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Great ideas! Many I’ve never even heard of. Gangtok looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shashi says:

    Wow…nice post. I have been to some of the places you have mentioned, including Gangtok. I hope you will fulfill your dream soon. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

