continued from Starlit Sky: 24. Pegasus and Andromeda

Pisces or twin fishes is the last constellation of the 12 zodiac constellations. Pisces is called Meena Raasi in the Indian Astronomical System.

Now to find it in the sky.

You can now identify the Pegasus square. look to the south of the square. You will find 5 stars forming a sort of an oblong shape. It reminds you of a fish’s head. Towards other end of the fish’s head, you will find a series of stars that line up like a “V” and end quite near the Andromeda constellation. The end near the Andromeda constellation is another fish’s head. So now, one fish head near the square of the Pegasus and the other fish head near the Andromeda constellation, with their tails entwined are the two fishes of the Pisces constellation. That is the Meena Raasi.

Almost all the stars in this constellation have 3 or more magnitude. So they are not so easily spotted. Among all the stars, zeta piscicum is called the Revathi star in the Indian Astronomical system. It is the last star in the 27 stars.

Random gyaan:
Look towards the head of the fish near the Andromeda constellation. Now go a bit east wards. You will see three stars that form a cute triangle. That constellation is the Triangulum (very innovative! 😀 ). Some asteroids were discovered in this constellation. As you know, asteroids are a part of the solar system. These are small planet rocks that revolve around the Sun and found between Mars and Jupiter. When I say some were found in the Triangulum, please don’t get confused. I mean to say that through telescopes and other implements, star gazers discovered these asteroids in the region where this constellation is seen.

Look more east to the Triangulum. You can see about 3 or 4 stars in a relatively straight line. There is the first constellation of the zodiac, the Aries.

Aries is the Latin word for a Ram. It is called the Mesha Raasi in the Indian Astronomical System.

It is difficult to imagine this line of stars as a ram. Here this figure might help.

The star named Sheratan, forming the horn of the ram is a star of magnitude of 2.6. It is called the star Ashwini in the Indian Astronomical System. Ashwini is the first of 27 stars of importance in this system.

There is a faint star at the end of the line that we spotted for Aries. This star has a magnitude of about 4. It is called 41 Arietis and that is the Bharani star of the 27 stars in the Indian Astronomical System.

Looking more east from Aries, you will be able to see the very familiar Orion and Taurus.

We have completed our journey all across the sky starting with Orion and reaching it back again. Wow!

Our journey spanned the entire zodiac elliptic.

Our Sun takes an year to travel through all the 12 zodiac signs. The path He takes is called the elliptic. It spans 9 deg to the North and 9 deg to the South. All the planets and our Moon too travel within this elliptic. Dividing the entire path into 12 bits leaves about 30 degrees each to each zodiac..

to be continued……………….