We are twins, Agni and I.

We have the same birthday. We have the same set of parents. We share the same siblings too. One sister, elder and one brother, younger.

Everyone says we look the same. We are so alike. The same nose, eyes, hair, height, ears and mouth. Sometimes, a lot of people mistake us for each other. Our teachers have done it. So have our classmates. Our mother used to dress us in the clothes that looked same. This took the whole confusion to a different level. When we stepped out looking like two coins, sometimes even Dad couldn’t tell us apart.

I never liked that. Finally, one day I asked my mother not to dress us up like that. It used to feel weird to see Agni wearing the same thing as me. It felt like walking, playing, and talking with a mirror next to me. Who wants to see one’s reflection all the time. Not me.

It was not a perfect reflection either. Even though we look the same, I and Agni are not in so many ways. I am different from my twin. We are entirely two different individuals. Not a lot of people understand that.

Agni does. Obviously. He feels the same as me.

There are so many differences between us. Subtle, but differences nevertheless.

Agni is a fighter, I am not. I would rather run away from a conflict than get into it headlong like he does.

I love classical music. Agni is into heavy metal.

I really enjoy books while Agni would rather watch a movie.

Even though we like to do different things, we compromise and do the same thing together. We eat together, we go everywhere together, we study together. We are always together. We would love to do activities separately, but we are always together.

Why, you ask?

We are Siamese twins. We are attached together at the hip since birth. Along with all other things we share, we share a liver!

We went to a doctor few months who says he could separate us! We had the surgery yesterday.

Today is a different dawn altogether. Agni is not lying next me. He is smiling from a bed next to me.

Today we are similar but different!


Similarity

Similarity is concept widely used in Architecture, Geometry and problems involving height and distances. Two figures are similar if they have the same shape with a few required conditions. The figures in question will not be exactly same or congruent, but some parameters match.

For example, all circles are similar, only differing in their radii. All squares are similar, differing in their length. But all triangles are not similar. Only some triangles are similar. If at least 2 or all 3 angles of a triangle are equal to another triangle, then they are similar even if their lengths are different.

Here triangles ABC is similar to EFG, differing only in their lengths of the sides.

That is why, it makes sense to draft up the building or a bridge to be built out on paper before actually building it. They are similar. The bridge can be built exactly as drafted down to the last screw. Imagine having to draw up plans as big as the actual structure!


Today’s genre: Autobiographical

An autobiography is a narrative of one’s experiences told by oneself. It can take the form of prose, anecdotes, letters, memoirs , journals and reminiscences etc. Sometimes, an autobiography may be written only for oneself and not for wide publication. Autobiographies of famous people most likely become inspirations for others. They portray the struggles and triumphs, highs and lows and most intimate details of the author’s life.


Disclaimer: All plots, people, places and situations are a product of my imagination. No identification with actual people, places etc. are to be inferred. Any resemblances if any are mere coincidences. Thank you!

In this year’s A2Z, I am attempting to write fiction whose titles are based on mathematical concepts. I have randomly assigned a genre of writing to each letter. This way I will be able try my hand at all types of genres.

Read my A2Z till now here.

This is a part of the #BlogchatterA2Z 2023 challenge. Check out all other awesome entries from other awesome bloggers here.